29 and Single!!

بِسْمِ ٱللهِ ٱلرَّحْمٰنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ

29 and Single

How hard is it?

It’s very hard. I am my parents dream. Their wish and their life. I have that on my shoulders. Not a burden but more of a responsibility.

It’s their obligation to ensure I am settled down and I know it. But it’s not that easy.

At 29 I have travelled the world, I have experienced the worst things that life can throw and tasted the sweetest experiences that life has given me. But I worked my way up.

I am not boring and I am not typical.

Many assume that marriage isn’t for me, but you are wrong … It is. I would like to one day In shaa Allah but finding someone that accepts me for all my flaws and scars isn’t easy.

For too long now and I know sisters that agree with me here… Many will continue to ask me ‘when I’m getting married?’ ‘You’re not getting any younger’,’we want to see you have babies’

Subhan’Allah, if Allah swt hasn’t written this for me yet, why do you do my head in?!!

Am I too picky? Damn right I am!

I’ve had proposals from guys that have no interest in any Humanitarian affairs and this for me is The BIGGEST issue. If you have no passion for change then you and your tunnel vision can go over ‘there’ because this is what I am about. I’m all about that change.

My personality is so enormous that it has its own gravitational pull….and many of my single sisters out there are exactly the same.

We won’t settle for less , we want to be able to find that one person that can look into our eyes and know exactly that we about to laugh at the pigeon who looks constipated because that’s fun!

But importantly, we are single because it’s the way it is. I can’t change being me, maybe I can give up Marmite because I can compromise however stop asking us ‘why’….. Because we don’t have all the answers.

We are 29, single, successful and not your typical! We have sabr and we are waiting.

Wanted to post something like this for long. And this perfectly describes how the society is making it difficult for single sisters. To all the people out there, poking into others life out of curiosity or concern what’s going in our life, why we are not married, or why sisters don’t have kids, etc etc, and to the parents who think late 20’s or early 30’s is high time to anyhow marry their daughters, I would just say….. I agree marriage is our Prophet’s Sunnah and we should surely follow it, but we should never forget that Allah says that nothing in this world happens without his knowledge, and he has perfected everything at the right time, never early and never late and whatever he has decreed for us will never ever miss us. He knows everything. He is All Hearing and All Seeing. So trust Allah, have faith in his power, if He is delaying anything then surely there is His mercy hidden.

Now, I don’t get affected by such questions because I have faith in Allah. I just pray that Allah show his mercy on my parents and whoever is facing such difficulties in life. May Allah relieve us from hardships and bring ease in all our matters.

“Do not despair of the mercy of Allah”.

Don’t settle for less, have sabr, be content and make dua’a. In shaa Allaah the right person will come.

May Allaah Azza wa jal grant us spouses that will be the coolness of our eyes and will accept us for who we are. Allaahumma Aameen

 

(parts taken from Leyla Habebti for Sisters Express)

 

 

 

About Shads

I discovered and started realising and relearning the meaning of islam and truth and way of life and thus sharing my knowledge. By profession, I am a researcher studying human behaviour.
This entry was posted in My Writing!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment