“I am as My servant thinks I am.”

بِسْمِ ٱللهِ ٱلرَّحْمٰنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ

I wanted something so badly. I kept praying for it, pouring my heart into begging Allah to give it to me. But every time I did, I would say to myself, “Allah probably wants to test me. He knows how much I want this, so He probably will give me the opposite of it just because I want it so badly.”

And then one day I realized: Allah says, “I am as My servant thinks I am.” Why would He give me what I want when all I’m thinking is about how much He wouldn’t? If I don’t even believe He’l…l give it to me, if while I’m praying for it I’m thinking He will withhold it-then why would I even deserve it?

Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) taught us that we should pray for something while we are certain that Allah will grant us what we’re praying for. It might not come in the same way we want it- maybe it will! Maybe it’ll be better, or maybe we’ll get it in the Hereafter or perhaps something evil will be prevented and averted from us because of our prayer.

But in all those scenarios there is one common factor: Allah will answer. And His answer will be always be good.

I went back to begging Allah to grant it to me, but this time, I was fervently certain that He would. As the months went by, as one year merged into the next, every time a doubt would enter my heart, I cast it away, I screamed at it and I would say: He HAS to answer. He WILL answer. This is Al Mujeeb! The One Who responds! Al Kareem- The Generous! Al Wadud The Loving!

And you know what? He did. And in a way that was beyond my wildest hopes and dreams.

“When Allah inspires your tongue to ask, know that He wants to give.” – Ibn AtaAllah

-Maryam Amir

About Shads

I discovered and started realising and relearning the meaning of islam and truth and way of life and thus sharing my knowledge. By profession, I am a researcher studying human behaviour.
This entry was posted in Others Post. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment